Smoke Screen

For Fans of Mystery, Complex Characters, and Small Town Secrets

Smoke Screen brings all the suspense and intrigue readers expect from Terri Blackstock. Although not as fast-paced as some of her other novels, Smoke Screen throws readers into the complex lives of Brenna and Nate. The two high school sweethearts are reunited after the years and buried secrets have separated them.

The drama unfolds right from the first page. Brenna is going through a nasty custody battle for her two children. Nate’s job as a smoke jumper sends him back to town to heal from his wounds after he rescues a family from a deadly fire. Nate’s father served time for killing Brenna’s father, so their relationship is tense as Nate’s father is released from prison and pardoned.

The author writes characters with flaws and emotions so real that readers won’t want the book to end. Nate’s humility and strength shine when the town throws unfounded accusations his way. Brenna’s struggles are magnified when the deck is stacked against her in the fight for her children. But mysteries run throughout the novel as Nate tries to uncover what happened the night Brenna’s father was murdered.

Definitely move Smoke Screen to the number one spot on your TBR list. The complex characters and small town secrets will keep readers hooked until the very end.

I received a complementary ebook review copy of this book through NetGalley. All opinions expressed in this review are my own.



Categories: Review

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: