The Red Ribbon

For Fans of Historical Fiction, True Crimes, and Romance Novels

Another novel in the True Color series – this one tackles The Hillsville Courthouse Massacre of 1912. Pepper Basham sets readers right into the historical setting through her attention to the scenery, customs, and dialect of the times. The true crimes story spills all of the details about some feuding families in an Appalachian mountain town. A seemingly innocent kiss at a corn-shucking contests leads to a bloody massacre, with outlaws on the run and a small town thrown into the spotlight. Ava Burcham and Jeremiah Sutphin find all kinds of dangerous situations as they fall in love during tumultuous and strange times. Not everyone can be trusted, and the pair become eye-witnesses to a deadly shootout just days before their wedding.

I’ll admit that this story wasn’t my usual non-stop action and suspense kind of read. A lot of romance fans will love this one. But I did enjoy this story. The author has an amazing writing style that captures the essence of the time period. I’m a fan of the whole series, which takes little know crime stories in the history of the United States and brings them to life in the pages of a fiction novel. The Red Ribbon let me imagine the chaos of the scene of these feuding families who seem to take the law into their own hands at times. The real-life crime still isn’t resolved as it seems unclear as to who started the whole thing and whether or not some innocent people were held accountable for the crimes.

Definitely check out The Red Ribbon if you are a fan of historical fiction, true crimes, or romance novels when it releases.

Overall Rating:
4 stars (I liked it a lot and would definitely recommend)
Suspense Rating: 3 stars (some suspenseful moments)

I received an ebook review copy of this book through NetGalley. All opinions expressed in this review are my own



Categories: Review

Tags: , , ,

2 replies

  1. Thank you!!!!!

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. October 2020 New Releases Reviews – Christian Fiction

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: