In A Far-Off Land

In A Far-Off Land

 
For Fans of Historical Fiction and Drama

In a Far -Off Land gives readers a look into all the grit and drama of Hollywood in the 1930’s. I haven’t read too many stories set in the Depression era, but the author sets the stage with the contrast between over-indulgent socialites and obliterating poverty. Minerva Sinclaire decides to leave her humble small-town roots for the lure of Hollywood stardom. Thinking she can make money as an actress, she sets out to earn enough to keep her family’s farm from going under. But she enters a world of corruption and winds up losing everything, especially her identity.

I love a few things about this story. The time period and setting seemed magical with the celebrities and scenery of old-timey Hollywood. But just a few blocks down the road, communities were devastated by the Depression with unimaginable poverty.  The author really brought to light the social issues of the times.

I also liked that this story is a modern-day retelling of the prodigal son. In this case, daughter, but the story was filled with redemption and meaning. The spiritual lessons jump off the pages as a reminder that no matter how bad things get, we are still loved.  Forgiveness isn’t a dream from a far-off land.

While not fast-paced, this novel brings emotional depth to the characters and I found this to be a meaningful and well-crafted story. I definitely recommend, especially for any fans of historical fiction.

4 stars (I liked it a lot and would definitely recommend)3 stars (some suspenseful moments)

I received an ebook review copy of this book through NetGalley. All opinions expressed in this review are my own.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: