Hours to Kill

For Fans of High Stakes Drama and Action

I’m a fan of Susan Sleeman’s romantic suspense, but the Homeland Heroes series has to be hands down my favorite. I love the interaction between government agencies as they save the country from terrorists and all sorts of evil.

Hours to Kill is book three in the series. You could probably read as a standalone, but books 1 and 2 give more back story on some of the other members of the elite Red team. This team consists of several different law enforcement agencies that have highly specialized skills. This story focuses on Homeland Security agent Addison Leigh. She’s about to break her case wide open, but has a car accident and can’t remember pieces of her life. Big pieces, like her estranged husband and Red team member Mack Jordan. Mack wanted to win her back, but now she doesn’t even recognize him. They also are running out of time to stop gun runners from smuggling assault weapons into the country.

I love the interaction between Addy and Mack. It’s as if he has to make her fall in love with him all over again. The plot is fact-paced with plenty life-and-death scenarios to take a reader’s breath away. Be sure to check out the whole series for some fantastic suspense!

Overall Rating:
5 stars (I loved it, couldn’t put it down)

Suspense Rating
5 stars (Non-stop edge-of-your-seat suspense from start to finish)

I received an ebook review copy of this book through NetGalley. All opinions expressed in this review are my own.

the purple nightgown

For Fans of True Crimes, Historical Fiction, and Suspense

This next installment in the True Colors series gives readers another creepy crime story from American history. The Purple Nightgown takes readers back to the early 1900’s. Stella Burke would do anything to rid herself of terrible headaches. She checks herself into a “spa” run by Linda Hazzard. The promise of healing turns deadly for Stella. Linda Hazzard’s methods include starvation and abuse, and Stella finds herself in a prison that she can’t escape.

I read up on the story surrounding Linda Hazzard, and it’s truly horrifying that she convinced people to pay her money with the promise of healing and instead many people died from her questionable therapies. The author did a good job of shielding the reader from some of the more gruesome details, but still brought the story to life. There’s quite a bit of romance too as Stella finds herself falling for her longtime friend and chauffer. But her station in life prevents them from being together.

If you are a fan of the series, you’ll love the latest in the lineup. I always find it intriguing that the crimes and atrocities in these stories are all based on true events. Most of the time I’ve never heard of these crimes, so it’s interesting to see the authors’ take on the heartbreaking and sometimes horrifying events from the darker side of American history.  

Overall Rating:
4 stars (I liked it a lot and would definitely recommend)

Suspense Rating:
4 stars (lots of action and suspense to keep me intrigued)

I received an ebook review copy of this book through NetGalley. All opinions expressed in this review are my own.

Cast the First Stone

For fans of police detective novels and time travel

Cast the First Stone is a time-traveling adventure story. What would happen if you were able to go back in time and fix your mistakes? This is the question facing Rembrandt Stone. As an ex-police detective, he has a stack of cold cases haunting him. But the one case that has eaten away at his soul is a series of bombings at a café. Rembrandt receives the gift of a watch, and when the watch works, it ticks back time. He finds himself right back in the middle of the café bombing investigation. Of course, as any good time traveler fan know, if you change something in the past it sets the future into a different trajectory.

“I might be able to travel through time, but clearly I’ve brought my demons with me.”

– Rembrandt stone

I’m a fan of time-travel stories, and Cast the First Stone has set the stage for an exciting series. I’m hooked, and only book 1 is out. But even with the time-travel theme, the first person narrator brings a lot of depth to the story. Readers will get inside Rem’s head as he grapples with every decision he faces. Also, check out the audio version – it makes the story that much more exciting! I highly recommend checking out Cast the First Stone before the next one comes out in April. But expect a cliff hanger.

Overall Rating
5 stars (I loved it, couldn’t put it down)


Suspense Rating:
5 stars (Non-stop edge-of-your-seat suspense from start to finish)

Network of Deceit

For Fans of Police Procedurals and Detective Cases

Network of Deceit follows Amara Alvarez, homicide detective with the San Antonio police department, as she gets her first case. Readers could probably start with Network, but it helps to have read Collision of Lies just to get some of the character history.

Amara’s first case seems pretty cut and dry, but she begins to suspect that a death at a local water park might be foul play. I like the author’s style of writing. There’s not a lot of life-and-death action, but the story unfolds in such an intriguing way that it definitely kept my interest from start to finish (different that Collision which was on the intense side – be sure to check this one out. It’s fantastic!) Amara is relentless in her pursuit of suspects which adds to the tension, but this novel explores more of her personal life. She tries to balance her relationship with her mother, plus explore a romance with Starsky, her quirky but adorable co-worker. Of course, Larry the lizard makes an appearance or two!

I’ve been a fan of the series and hope to see other stories in the future. I highly recommend to readers who like detective-style mysteries.

Overall Rating:
5 stars (I loved it, couldn’t put it down)

Suspense Rating:
5 stars (Non-stop edge-of-your-seat suspense from start to finish)

I received an ebook review copy of this book through Revell and NetGalley. All opinions expressed in this review are my own.

Obsession

For Fans of Intense Suspense and Small-Town Mysteries

Obsession is a must-read for suspense fans. Emma Winters is a park ranger who is doing a historical project involving an archeological dig. But someone doesn’t want her uncovering long-buried secrets in the state park. She finds herself in the cross-hairs of a stalker as she searches for the truth. Old mysteries resurface and Sam Ryker steps in to help keep Emma safe. He and Emma have a sorted past, but of course, old feelings reignite!

I love stories with lots of plot twists and red herrings. Patricia Bradley does a great job of casting shade on several characters. It took me a while to pin down the real culprit – so many people had motive. The setting for the story is unique. There aren’t many stories set in Natchez Trace, let alone characters that are park rangers. This is book two in the series, but you could definitely pick this novel up as a stand-alone.

The story is fast-paced and a fantastic suspense novel. Be sure to check it out!

Overall Rating:
5 stars (I loved it, couldn’t put it down)

Suspense Rating:
5 stars (Non-stop edge-of-your-seat suspense from start to finish)

I received an ebook review copy of this book through Revell and NetGalley. All opinions expressed in this review are my own.

The Thief of Blackfriar lane

For fans of historical settings and mystery

The Thief of Blackfriar Lane gives readers a trip to Victorian London with a twisted mystery to solve. Jackson Forge’s training to be a constable is hanging by a thread. He gets one last chance prove himself by solving the crime of the missing cab driver. He teams up with Kit Turner, whose streetwise attitude is the opposite of Jackson’s law-and-order stance.

The characters in this story are charming and witty, and the pairing of the cop and the con artist works well as they con the bad guys so Jackson can close the case. The story wasn’t action-packed, but read more like a cozy mystery. The author added lots of details that makes readers feel like they’re running around the streets of London helping Forge and Turner track down clues, meeting lots of shady characters along the way. It’s a fun and quirky mystery story.

Overall Rating:
4 stars (I liked it a lot and would definitely recommend)

Suspense Rating:
4 stars (lots of action and suspense to keep me intrigued)

I received an ebook review copy of this book through NetGalley. All opinions expressed in this review are my own.

Lethal Intent

For fans of complex mysteries, intriguing storylines and heart-warming characters

Lethal Intent gives readers an intriguing story! Caroline Braggs is an attorney who takes a job with a research laboratory as their inside counsel. She dives into the world of experimental research for developing life-saving treatments and drugs. But she begins to discover that the data doesn’t add up, and several key employees have suddenly died. The more she digs, the more danger she finds herself in. She also finds her relationship with Brandon Lancaster in jeopardy because of her job.

I love the characters in this novel. Brandon has given up his life and career to help care for foster children. Caroline starts to realize what’s important to her after watching Brandon in action. The storyline is also fascinating. Cara Putman did a lot of research on genetic therapies and Car-T cell therapies. The book had lots of suspenseful moments, but not as much as some of the other books by this author. Much of the story focused on Brandon and Caroline’s relationship. Lots of characters from prior novels have cameos, which I always enjoy!

Definitely check out this thought-provoking and intense new novel from Cara Putman.

Overall Rating:
4 stars (I liked it a lot and would definitely recommend)

Suspense Rating:
4 stars (lots of action and suspense to keep me intrigued)

I received an ebook review copy of this book through NetGalley. All opinions expressed in this review are my own.

Trial and Error

For Fans of Small Town Settings and Family Drama

Trial and Error by Robert Whitlow brings readers to a small town with plenty of secrets. Buddy Smith is an attorney who helps track down missing children, including his daughter. He teams up with the new detective in town along with his long-time friend Gracie Blaylock to try to find a local teen who may be tangled up with some unsavory people.

The storyline for Trial and Error is a touching one. Readers see the transformation of Buddy as he lets go of his past and finds true faith in God. The mother of his child took off with no warning, and Buddy hasn’t seen his daughter since she was born.  There are several interesting characters, including Maleah, a detective who helps Buddy on his quest to find missing children. The story is more of a cozy drama than a legal thriller. Not much action in the courtroom, and not much action in general. It’s overall a good storyline but not if you are looking for a suspense-filled legal drama.

4 stars (I liked it a lot and would definitely recommend)
3 stars (some suspenseful moments)

I received an ebook review copy of this book through NetGalley. All opinions expressed in this review are my own.