Synapse

For Fans of Sci-Fi, Suspense and AI

Steven James brings the futuristic suspense with Synapse. Set thirty years into the future, the novel explores the concept of how much artificial intelligent will change (or should change) our lives. Human-like Artificials become members of society. Kestral Hathaway is a minster who grapples with AI and her Artifical, Jordan, who has feelings and thoughts of his own. Caught up in a terrorist plot, Kestral seeks justice not only for herself but for Jordan.

“Humans are lost somewhere between what we should be and who we really are” – Kestral Hathaway from Synapse

While speculative, this story makes you wonder about where we are headed as a society. The author draws a lot from modern times to portray a future where everyone gives up their lives to the “Feeds” and personal freedoms are exchanged for convenience as the Artificials take on mundane daily tasks, like raising children! The author delivers the action and suspense, but dives deep into spiritual element. Jordan questions whether he has a soul and whether he need a belief in God. Kestral and her brother come to grips with why God allows evil to reign free after their parents are senselessly murdered. The story is fast paced, intriguing, full of futuristic special effects, and delivers some powerful messages. Definitely worth the read!

I received a complementary ebook review copy of this book through NetGalley. All opinions expressed in this review are my own.



Categories: Review

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: