Author Archives

Best In Suspense is a blog dedicated to reviewing the best in suspense, action-packed thriller novels. Kelly Underwood is a freelance writer, avid reader, and coffee connoisseur. Check out BestInSuspense.com for book recommendations that will keep you up all night in suspense.

  • Airborne

    For Fans of Danger, Action and Complex Plots Airborne takes readers on an action-packed adventure where biological weapons in the form of a deadly virus are unleashed on an unsuspecting airplane full of people. The virus acts fast, and Heather… Read More ›

  • Standoff

    Standoff is a fast-paced, suspenseful read from start to finish. Lots of twists and turns keep readers guessing until the very end.

  • The Water Keeper

    Charles Martin is an off-the-charts amazing writer. His stories are rich with imagery and complex characters that work their way into your heart. And The Water Keeper is no exception.

  • The Traitor’s Pawn

    My favorite kind of novel starts right in the middle of the action! The Traitor’s Pawn kicks off with an attempted abduction as Aubrey Grayson tries to make sense of why anyone would want to kidnap her.

  • Dead End

    What an incredible roller coaster ride! Dead End gives readers so many thrilling plot twists as Kaely Quinn finds herself in the worst possible predicament: facing her serial killer father in an attempt to locate a copy cat killer.

  • Silent Shadows

    Silent Shadows gives readers a swoon-worthy romance with some run-for-your life suspense. Pecca Gallegos has moved to Walton to escape her past and literally runs right into Colton Crawford, the ex-Army captain that is also her patient.

  • Chasing the White Lion

    Things I love in a novel: action, suspense, super-quirky characters, intricate plots, spies and computer geeks. This story has all of my favorites – so definitely 5 stars from me.

  • The Jerusalem Assassin

    For fans of political thrillers, intense suspense, and life or death situations The Jerusalem Assassin is the third novel in the Marcus Ryker series by Joel C. Rosenberg. It would be helpful to start with the The Kremlin Conspiracy first… Read More ›

  • Collision of Lies

    I’ve never read anything by Tom Threadgill, but now I’m his biggest fan. Collision of Lies is the novel we die hard suspense fans have been waiting for.

  • Kings Falling

    Kings Falling by Ronie Kendig gives readers more of everything we’ve come to expect from her novels. More death-defying action, more amazing characters like Leif Metcalf and Iskra Torodova, more danger, and much more inner conflict. But note that this novel ends on a total cliff-hanger which will leave readers wanting…well, MORE!

  • One Little Lie

    I’d classify this novel as a mystery. The plot is complex, with lots of characters that intertwine throughout the story. I didn’t see the ending coming and enjoyed the process of trying to piece the evidence together along side Jane.

  • The Blue Cloak

    I have enjoyed the True Color series, which takes crime stories from America’s past and creates a story around the events. The Blue Cloak is set in the late 1700’s in the American frontier.